Planning for Our Region's Future




The South Central Regional Council of Governments has been awarded a grant from the CT Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) to develop a Multi-Jurisdiction Hazard Mitigation Plan for Bethany, Branford, Hamden, Madison, North Branford, North Haven, Orange, Wallingford, West Haven and Woodbridge. The five additional municipalities in the Region (East Haven, Guilford, Meriden, Milford, and New Haven) have completed or are currently working on Hazard MItigation Plans. They have been invited to participate in this planning process.

The planning process will adhere to Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) standards. The Plan will address possible natural hazards such as flood, wind, earthquake, and winter storms. The purpose of the Plan is to reduce the Region’s vulnerability to natural hazards and provide a comprehensive approach to mitigate any potential inter-jurisdictional hazards. The Hazard Mitigation Plan is a prerequisite for the Region’s municipalities to apply for federal and state grants to implement the identified mitigation projects.

South Central Region Multi-Jurisdiction Hazard Mitigation Plan Fact Sheet

Plan Status

FEMA Region I has completed its review of the South Central Region Multi-Jurisdiction Hazard Mitigation Plan and has found it approvable pending local adoption. The Plan is available for download below.

South Central Region Multi-Jurisdiction Hazard Mitigation Plan  
Appendicies A - L Note: ~ 83 MB
Appendix M  

Advisory Commitee Agendas and Presentations

Advisory Committee Agendas and Presentations

West Haven Public Workshop Presentation, May 6, 2013

Branford Public Workshop Presentation, May 20, 2013

Community Rating System (CRS)

FEMA National Flood Insurance Program Community Rating System Brochure

Community Rating System Resources Website

Natural Hazard Mitigation Association Introduction to the CRS Webinar